My Top 5 Favorite Plant-Based Staple Foods

“Ask not what you can do for your country. Ask what’s for lunch.”
― Orson Welles

dates-in-ramadan-kareem

  1. Dates

If you’re ever wondering what to get me for Christmas or my birthday, just do me a favor and get me dates. I’m talking about the fruits. Sorry to crush your dreams, ladies. These suckers are packed with vitamins and minerals such as calcium, magnesium, vitamin b-6, and iron, and can be used to satisfy even the biggest sweet tooth. Blend these little guys up with some cocoa powder and some nuts and you’ve got yourself delicious, healthy raw brownies ready to be devoured by the handful.

bananas-wallpaper-1

  1. Bananas

I thank the god of bananas, whoever he might be, every single day for blessing the world with these delicious yellow miracles. Wrapped with love and always ready to be eaten, bananas are the perfect “I’m late but still need to to eat something healthy” food. Need potassium? Want some B Vitamins? One word. Bananas. Gwen Stefani had it right. Go Bananas. Just try to make sure your bananas are fair-trade. We don’t want unethical, slave-harvested bananas. Nope.

potato-wallpapers

  1. Potatoes

For a vegetable grown in the dirt, potatoes taste like…not dirt, if seasoned right. Potatoes can act as an entire meal because they are packed with so many required nutrients, such as vitamin C, magnesium, iron, and protein. Yes, potatoes are what French fries are made from. Crazy, right?

lentil-ceramic-in-spoon-694x417

  1. Lentils

This underrated legume has been a life saver for me while being at university. I just cut up some onions and garlic and throw them in a pot with some olive oil, then I toss in lentils, water, salt, and other spices to make a delicious, hearty soup packed with protein and other vitamins and minerals. Next time you go shopping, do yourself a favor and take some of these lovely legumes home with you.

spelt-grain-and-flour

  1. Spelt

Remember my first post when I mentioned those calzones bigger than my head? Courtesy of spelt flour. I also use spelt to make pizza, bread, pancakes, cookies, and every other mouth-watering baked creation known to man. I specifically put *spelt* flour on the list because it is usually much less processed than other grains, and it doesn’t weigh as heavy in my stomach after devouring a whole calzone by myself. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

