Daily Motivation: Do It For the Children

“Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn’t pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same.” – Ronald Reagan

A Planet for the Children

The reasons for living a sustainable lifestyle are countless, but perhaps the most important out of all those reasons is the prospect of giving to our children a world that is better than the one we received.

I was lucky enough to grow up in a log cabin surrounded by more than fifty acres of beautiful mountain landscape where I could explore to my heart’s content. My backyard was a mountain, and my front yard was a valley. I could see wonders of nature through my kitchen window, and through this perspective I realized the importance of making sure places like this can still exist in the future. Perhaps it’s because of what I experienced as a kid that this cause is so dear to my heart.

I want other children to be able to experience the world like I did as a child, not some gray, post-apocalyptic shadow of what planet Earth used to be.

It’s hard to see how our actions affect the world, especially when we don’t see the effects first hand, but our footprints are still there, whether we see them or not. We have a responsibility as future mothers, fathers, aunts, uncles, and mentors to make sure our footprints don’t ruin the planet on which our next generation must live.

It’s no small fight, but it will be well worth it when we can look at our little ones and know we are doing everything in our power to give them a planet where they can live safely and happily.

Leave a Reply

